top of page

Here's to me! I mean to #pimpmybio

Hello!

This post is dedicated to #pimpmybio an extension of the twitter #PitchWars contest I recently found myself entering. I am a big fan of third person writing (opposed to first person), and that goes for video games as well. I much prefer the new Tomb Raider’s detached view over Call of Duty’s (I do still love CoD too though). Dang, I get sidetracked easily.

Now where were we? Oh yeah, this is the It’s all about me post. So here we go. (I do talk about my amazing characters too, so don't fret.)

OXFORD COMMA, YES, YES, AND YES! (JUST THOUGHT I'D PLACE THIS HERE)

WHO IS RAQUEL MIOTTO E.?

I was born and raised in Brazil. Yep you guessed it; English is not my first language. What’s my first language? Nope, not Spanish. Brazil is the only country in South America that speaks Portuguese (You’d be surprised at the amount of people that don’t know this). I do hear it’s hard to tell though, that I am from another country—apparently I don’t really have an accent anymore. Shhh, don’t tell, I worked really hard on that.

But it wasn’t always like that.

When I first moved to the US in January of 2006, I could barely speak the language. It was comical really. Several stories through the years have remained with me and I still tell my ever-entertaining mispronunciation adventures. But don’t worry, I’ll spare you . . . This time.

WHY DID RAQUEL MOVE TO THE US?

Growing up in Brazil, I was a professional volleyball player (I know, cool right?). I wanted to go to school and play ball at the same time, but other countries don’t make it easy on you. And trust me, I found out the hard way how much your coaches dislike when you have to leave the second practice of the day 30 min. early in order to make it to class. So I went to school for tourism (don’t judge, I loved it and wanted to travel the world) for two years after I graduated high school. At the beginning of year two, my coach started to hint at me that I should quit school if I wanted to play ball. By the end of the year, he flat out told me that I had to choose. So I moved to NC when I was 19.

I knew several players/friends that had come to America on a scholarship. They did two years of Jr. College and then proceeded to the University after that.

But that wasn’t good enough for me.

Growing up, I had always like English, even taught myself (used to read the English-Portuguese dictionary before bed every night). I decided I wanted to move here, I knew my English was much better than anyone else I knew, so I set my bar higher. I was determined to go straight to a University. And so I found out the hard way that my English wasn’t as good as I had told myself it was. Needless to say I had to take the SAT three times in order to pass. Two years later, and a lot of studying, I was accepted.

I got a full ride and played volleyball during all four years, graduated with a degree in Art and Minor in Marketing, and hoped to stay on as an Assistant Coach. But my own school didn’t want to hire me (despite my pretty awesome records). Sad, I know. A little messed up too, but I’m ok.

So I went on to coaching high school and clubs. Even started my own club for a few years, but I soon found out I couldn’t do it by myself. I got a Marketing Job (thanks to my coaching career), got married to a talented, handsome (yes, American), modern Viking. True story, you just can't make this stuff up.

After a year of marriage, I found out I couldn’t have babies. (Sad, sappy, blah blah). But I was fortunate enough that my marriage brought with it three wonderful step kids I love to pieces. And these same kids are the reason I started writing in the first place.

I always said that if i ever got published, I'd make a sticker that says

"Most women MAKE babies, I PRINT mine." :)

Yay, happy ending.

The continuation of me is here.

BOOK TIME!

TELL US ABOUT YOUR CHARACTERS.

OMG! I did not just do this to myself. Ugh...

I have so many bad-ass characters, and I am in love with each and everyone of them!

First and foremost, TAOTI is not a romance. I had someone bring it up and just wanted to clarify. Yes, there is a little cheese, but 90% of the novel is bad-assery.

SPOILER ALERT! (Very little though.)

NEELIE is my MC. She is a feisty 16yo. Her dormant fae powers (which she doesn't know she has) turn her human form into a constant energy ball, near combustion, and until she figures out how to control that power, she is, to say the least, hard to deal with. She mouths off even to Sassack Soler, the strongest fae warrior and Grand General of the fae realm. Once she figures out that the power inside her is linked to the old king, she becomes unstoppable. The twin diamond blades she grows attached to become a powerful weapon few will dare cross.

TOHRA is the trigger to most of Neelie's temper tantrums. She is the over-friendly Brazilian college exchange student whom Neelie's parents are hosting. She is also a force to be reckoned with. Jujitsu is her strongest suit, she trained for years in Brazil, competing every chance she got. And the folding knife she purchased with the money she won from her first match has been her daily companion since the day she bought it. But she totally drew the short end of the stick. Once the two not-friends enter the realm of Vaenhara, and Tohra is kidnapped by a flying beast, she has to remember the skills she hasn't practiced in three months, and it may just be what keeps her alive. ;) So she goes on killing some, rescuing others, exploding buildings, flying sphinxes (Oh Kahfra, you are one of my favorites).

KHAFRA is . . . a sphinx. He is large, imposing, loyal, regal, and warm and fuzzy. (Come on, who doesn't want a friend like that?)

SASSACK SOLER (Yes, he is so awesome he deserves a last name). He is the Grand General of the Vaen Barin Royal Army. He is fueled by fire magic and has the most accurate senses in the realm. Sassack has lost his son, his mate, and his amalgamate, within a short period of time. This left him empty of any type of emotion, turning him into the deadliest warrior in Vaenhara. He has to deal with Neelie for most of the book (No, there is never anything romantic between them. He is like thousands of years old. It'd be weird).

PS: If I had to pick an actor to ever play him in a movie it'd be Jason Momoa, the guy from the gif below. :)

WHAT MAKES TAOTI COOL?

I have a lot of old Norse elements to my story, with hubby being a viking and what not. I have also tied my fantasy world with our world in a way that I'll be able to explore world's history! In this book, if you pay close attention, I have subtle hints of ancient Egypt and Atlantis.

I have to say that one of my favorite ideas were the amalgamates. When a fae and a fairie become of age (100yo), they begin warrior training. When they reach the age of 125, they go through an amalgamation ceremony where one fae and one fairy join together to become a powerful duo. The chemistry has to be on point, precise enough that one can fill the gaps in the other's flaws. The fae is the attacking weapon. They battle with elemental magic. The fairies are the defenders and healers. Each responds and acts according to the other, ultimately fighting as one. It takes hand to hand combat to a different level.

Thanks for stopping by, and don’t hesitate to contact me if you want to know more. I have no idea why anyone would (maybe a mentor?) :)

Check out #pimpmybio and http://www.lanapattinson.com/pitchwars-2016-pimpmybio/

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Google+ Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
bottom of page